Affect Working Group


About the Cluster

The Affect Working Group, formed by Deborah Gould and Dana Takagi from Sociology and Carla Frecerro from Literature, draws together faculty and graduate students from across the University who are interested in the felt dimensions of social life.

Activities since its formation in 2009 have consisted of reading groups, public lectures, and panel discussions. Faculty and graduate student participants in the Affect Working Group hail from multiple disciplines crossing four of the five divisions: American Studies, Anthropology, Art, Computer Science, Feminist Studies, Film and Digital Media, History of Art and Visual Culture, History of Consciousness, Latin American and Latino Studies, Literature, Politics, and Sociology. Several faculty participants in the group teach graduate courses on affect in their respective disciplines (Anthropology, Literature, Politics and Sociology), and have dedicated aspects of their previous work to the analysis of affect.

Learn More

For information about the cluster please contact cluster coordinators, Carla Freccero ( and Deborah Gould (

Click here to join the Affect Working Group Google Group email list.

Affiliated Faculty

Vilashini Cooppan (Literature)
Sharon Daniel (Film and Digital Media)
Carla Freccero (Literature, Feminist Studies, History of Consciousness)
Jennifer Gonzalez (History of Art and Visual Culture)
Deborah Gould (Sociology)
Dee Hibbert-Jones (Art)
Kimberly Lau (American Studies and Literature)
Michael Mateas (Computer Science)
Dean Mathiowetz (Politics)
Megan Moodie (Anthropology)
Juan Poblete (Literature)
Eric Porter (History, History of Consciousness, and American Studies)
Catherine Ramirez (Latin American and Latino/s Studies)
Danilyn Rutherford (Anthropology)
Vanita Seth (Politics)
Dana Takagi (Sociology)
Noah Wardrip-Fruin (Computer Science)


May 7, 2014: Lauren Berlant: Sex, or the Unbearable
October 23, 2012: Affect Across the Disciplines II
March 2, 2013: “Occupation Affect: On Political Emotion” Conference