News | 11 February 2010

HUGRA Recipients Announced


The Institute for Humanities Research is delighted to announce the recipients of the Humanities Undergraduate Research Awards (HUGRA) for academic year 2009-2010.

Rachael Berry, History
Publicity and Media in the Gaza War.
Mentor: Bruce Thompson, Lecturer in History.

Nitza Bernard, Jewish Women’s Studies
* Bertha N. Melkonian Prize Winner
Women Rabbis in America.
Mentor: Bruce Thompson, Lecturer in History.

Derek Davis, History
Decisions in the Haitian Revolution.
Mentor: Gregory O’Malley, Assistant Professor in History.

Benjamin Gabriel, Literature
Hello Kitty Everything.
Mentor: Karen Yamashita, Professor of Literature.

Miles Hatfield, Philosophy
Articulated Crying: Sensation-words and Grammar.
Mentor: Jonathan Ellis, Associate Professor of Philosophy.

Steven Roy, History
Ottoman Power Projection and the Sixteenth-Century World War.
Mentor: Edmund Burke, III, Professor in History.

Amanda Smith, Feminist Studies
* Schorr Scholar
Now Queer Cinema: Fantasies and Nightmares.
Mentor: Neda Atanasoski, Assistant Professor of Feminist Studies.

Erica Terrell, American Studies
The Politics of Rebuilding Public Housing in Post-Katrina New Orleans.
Mentor: Eric Porter, Professor of American Studies.

Cynthia Thickpenny, History
Resurrecting the Picts.
Mentor: Cynthia Polecritti, Associate Professor of History.