News | 11 April 2011

The Inaugural Meeting of the UC Society of Fellows


Please join us for the inaugural meeting of the UC Society of Fellows, sponsored by the UC Humanities Network and hosted by the University of California Humanities Research Institute at UC Irvine. Highlighting innovative humanities research across the University of California, this forum brings together the 2010-2011 Presidential Faculty Fellows in the Humanities and Graduate Student Fellows to share their work with campus Humanities Center Directors, Humanities Deans and the UC community at large. They will be joined by Ken Wissoker, Editorial Director of Duke University Press, for a wide-ranging discussion of the value and impact of research across the humanities today.


Friday, April 29, 2011 | 135 Humanities Instructional Building, UC Irvine
(for building location, please see Travel Logistics)

8:30 am Continental Breakfast Buffet
9:00 am Welcome and Opening Remarks
David Goldberg, Director, UC Humanities Research Institute
David Marshall, Dean, Humanities and Fine Arts, UC Santa Barbara
9:15 am Graduate Fellows Roundtable
Moderator: Carolyn de la Peña, Director, UC Davis Humanities Institute
Discourse and Orality
Scott Anderbois (Linguistics, UC Santa Cruz)
Claire Chambers (Performance Studies, UC Davis)
Kensy Cooperrider (Cognitive Science, UC San Diego
Peter Leman (English, UC Irvine)
Mary Murrell (Anthropology, UC Berkeley)
Eternal Return of the Body
Nicholas Bartlett (Medical Anthropology, UC San Francisco)
Szu-ching Chang (Dance, UC Riverside)
Sarah Lauro (English, UC Davis)
Yeesheen Yang (Literature, San Diego)
Catherine Zusky (English, UC Santa Barbara)
Regimes of Representation
Tanner Higgin (English, UC Riverside)
David Orzechowicz (Sociology, UC Davis)
Keelan Overton (Art History, UCLA)
Matthew Shindell (History-Science Studies, UC San Diego)
Marco Valesi (World Cultures, UC Merced)
10:45 am Coffee Break
11:00 am Open Q&A with Graduate Fellows
12:00 pm Lunch Break: buffet lunch in courtyard
12:30 pm Keynote Address:  Ken Wissoker, Editorial Director, Duke University Press
1:30 pm Faculty Fellows Roundtable
Moderator: David Theo Goldberg
Systems of Science
Theodore Porter (History, UCLA)
Jennifer Hughes (Religious Studies, UC Riverside)
Kevis Goodman (English, UC Berkeley)
Christian Wuthrich (Philosophy, UC San Diego)
The Eye of the Beholder
Caren Kaplan (American Studies, UC Davis)
Michael Osman (Architecture & Urban Design, UCLA)
Roberta Wue (Art History, UC Irvine)
Movements of Modernity
Mayanthi Fernando (Anthropology, UC Santa Cruz)
Stephan Miescher (History, UC Santa Barbara)
Adriana Craciun (English, UC Riverside)
3:15 pm Coffee Break
3:30 pm Open Discussion: Faculty Fellows and Ken Wissoker
4:30 – 6 pm Closing Reception

For more information visit: